First day in Ghent/Gent/Gand(?)

I don’t even know where to start with this city. Really. It was a snap getting from the train station to the info centre which was the only priority i had when i got here. Find a map. try to figure out where on earth to go. As always, it’s best to walk in circles when first arriving somewhere new-at least this seems to be my chosen method. this time, however I walked in a large circle with purpose! after i begged the tourist info lady for suggestions she handed me a map of a route to walk through the old centre “the bowl” she called it. I had a whole day to kill lugging my delightfully not light backpack around so my plan consisted of walk this walk as slowly as possible. I don’t have anything to compare it to but i spent extra time resting, I mean “admiring” the city along the way.
First there was the Gravensteen “Castle of the Counts”. yeah right? so I figure that covers castles for a bit

20140516-200841.jpg

20140516-200955.jpg

20140516-201024.jpg
Inside was pretty sparse; a few weapons, suits of armour and torture instruments on display. guillatines, the usual. I was pretty impressed by the guns they had on display. Definitely pieces of art-don’t want to kill animals or things with weapons not fit for a gentlemen right?

20140516-201439.jpg
After that short detour I walked towards St Michael’s church. Looked out over this

20140516-201652.jpg And walked into the church where I was encouraged to take pictures-if i wanted! I’m not a fan of church’s or photos but the beauty of this church, the organ music playing quietly in the background; if that’s what religion revolved around, just beautiful things filling your eyes and ears, I could get on that wagon.

20140516-202104.jpg

20140516-202139.jpg

20140516-202216.jpg
After St Michaels I walked past this amazing hair choice

20140516-202430.jpg
And heard the sound of a some slide guitar. Bam. beelined towards that and listened to some amazing blues and rock (a bit of stairway to heaven, of course) for a couple hours drinking cheap beer on the sidewalk with some other listeners. finished my walk and only got mildly lost. hmm starting to sound like my new catch-phrase there.

20140516-202751.jpg

20140516-202758.jpg

About robin

Someone who knows what she's doing but doesn't know what to do with herself. Love's looking at mountains, finding delicious food at markets, keeping active and riding her cruiser around. View all posts by robin

Leave a Reply

