Hiking under/over/across mountains in Lauterbrunnen

After my first 5 minutes walking in Lauterbrunnen I was in love. I’m not alone either, everyone who lives there is friendly- the kind of smile and say hello on the street village that’s now only a fable in Vancouver. I talked about it to a fellow traveler and she had the same feeling agreeing; “I was just smiling the whole time”.

IMG_1566.JPG During my first full day I decided to go for a small hike thing since at this point in my backpacking career my exercise usually consist of standing in museums and walking to the next place for beer/coffee.

2 and a half hours later I wander in to some random village that’s still 20minutes from Murren where the gondola up to the Schilthorn starts.

IMG_1571.JPG

IMG_1568.JPG
I wish I understood why looking at mountains and walking in the sun is such a soul warming experience. We walk a lot of places. Every day. All the time. Why do people just love looking at mountains so much?
Walking through the car-free village of Murren the most noticeable difference isn’t that the air tastes cleaner it’s the fact that it’s so quiet. I never notice the sound of traffic but without cars the place feels deadly silent.
Up up more, this time skipping another 4 hour hike in favour of 20 minutes of gondolas through some lovely scenery..

IMG_1582.JPG
On top of the Schilthorn. It’s ok switzerland I didn’t need to see those mountains anyways I’m sure these will do just fine

IMG_1583.JPG

About robin

Someone who knows what she's doing but doesn't know what to do with herself. Love's looking at mountains, finding delicious food at markets, keeping active and riding her cruiser around. View all posts by robin

Leave a Reply

