Stockholm and the best ship at sinking

One of those cities defined by the people on it. Not to say I talked to many strangers, the cool thing was that every person we (me+who ever I was with at the time) asked for directions stopped to help. Once this was turning around mid-cycle in the opposite direction. Another time; leading us around the corner to the door and wishing us a nice stay in Stockholm.
I don’t know why folks are particularly warm here, weather it’s the high standards of living, the beautiful surroundings (I don’t just mean the cappuccino papas) or something that’s just grown there.
I like all of it. I like Sweden.

IMG_2060.JPG
I had 4 days in Stockholm and thanks be jeebus I planned it that way. The city is not that large but when you need to circumvent numerous harbours to get to the specific island you want things can take longer.

First off: checked into my very nice et subtly creepy prison hostel. Literarily, but not literally. It all in the past. Except for the wax figures guarding the entrance and hall to my cell: The list of things that freak me out is steadily growing

IMG_2029.JPG
Next thing- hit the museums hard. Stockholm’s most popular museum is the Vasa museum. A 17th century war brigand rescued from the harbour almost completely intact. How one wonders? It sunk on its maiden voyage. Took less then an hour to go from top to bottom of the sea
Poor thing.

IMG_2078.JPG
After Vasa one goes to Skansa: the largest (or first? Too many claims to remember) outdoor museum. A bunch of old houses and functioning workshops moved together to create an old town. It was ok. What’s better is the Nordic animal zoo that is part of the park! I know I’m not supposed to like zoos but walking around after the main attractions all closed; just me and a few others was really nice. The two wolverines were racing around and playing in their enclosure.

IMG_2106.JPG
The two other museums I went in were the modern art museum- a little dull but had an amazing exhibition on of nils dardel- and the spritmuseum- so far as I could tell a museum dedicated to alcohol? But happened to be currently featuring the “history of Swedish sin” and “art pop” the relationship between visual art and music.

Swedish sin was a term coined by Americans (of course) since many Swedish movies included nude bathing which is normal in Sweden (was normal? I didn’t do extensive research while there). That and how promiscuous swedes are what with their sex ed videos (language of love) and classes all over the place.

So, Stockholm has the coolest town hall. Unusual sentence? The architect wanted every room to surprise and created a style based on..practically every influence from roman buildings to Viking ships to Byzantine mosques

IMG_2048.JPG

IMG_2043.JPG

IMG_2052.JPG

About robin

Someone who knows what she's doing but doesn't know what to do with herself. Love's looking at mountains, finding delicious food at markets, keeping active and riding her cruiser around. View all posts by robin

Leave a Reply

