More of Venice

My next day in the city I set out to see at Marc’s basilica from the inside! (Ooooh) A very long line and short wait to enter (maybe the only free thing in the city).
Thought I was done being impressed by church’s, It was probably the cheeses jokes that got me through all the religion unscathed.

IMG_2223.JPG

IMG_2229.JPG

IMG_2225.JPG
A short walk along the water leads to a view of the bridge of sighs. Two things checked off. Time for coffee. I didn’t even notice if the coffee was good in Venice- it was. It was just expected? And it’s all good, any place you go you know you will be drinking a decent cup. Espresso though, brews don’t really exist.

IMG_2236.JPG
The rest of my day was spent on the Venice ferries island hopping.
Cemetery island first, where I traveled back in time to when Austrians controlled the city, then past soldiers from England killed during the First World War. Something unique to the graves here is on every headstone a all portrait of the deceased was placed next to their name. Surprisingly this did not come out as creepy. Seeing such personal pictures says a lot more about the person than “a loving mother” and looking at the different pictures have a real sense of the time through the style of photograph.
After leaving the island- and it’s many blood sucking insect inhabitants- I squashed onto the boat headed to Murano to look at the famous Murano glass. No photos allowed but believe me, I saw a guy craft a unicorn from the freakishly hot stuff in under 30 seconds. And then bought earrings. Because I’m a sucker.

IMG_2239.JPG

IMG_2238.JPG
A longer journey and I arrived at the far more picturesque Burano. Island famous for lace? I skipped past the lace shops (where I suspect all but the tiniest pieces are made in China) and found some gelato-far too delicious gelato.

IMG_2242.JPG

IMG_2243.JPG
Ferry card in hand I use my power to catch a ride up the grand canal.

IMG_2250.JPG

IMG_2257.JPG

IMG_2255.JPG
No more energy! Time for dinner at the hostel with the cute mom and daughter Oregonians I met the other day. Hanging out with family travellers is great, it’s like a taste of home.

About robin

Someone who knows what she's doing but doesn't know what to do with herself. Love's looking at mountains, finding delicious food at markets, keeping active and riding her cruiser around. View all posts by robin

Leave a Reply

